Thrills And Wins At The 8th Annual SA Hip Hop Awards

Cassper Nyovest

The 8th South African  Awards passed through with lots of thrills and unexpected wins by some of the year’s hardest hitting emcees.

SA ’s most anticipated night has come and gone. The night held some very surprising turn outs and saw the nominated stars in all their glory come out with hopes to take a title home. The event took place at the Lyric Theatre, in Joburg.


The night turned out pretty great for some artists who smiled home with tropheys while some got much deserved round of applause.

Names like YoungstaCPT, Shane Eagle, Nadia Nakai, Cassper Nyovest, Nasty C and more clinched some much deserved wins. While Falko One bagged an honorary award.

Nadia Nakai

Unlike the previous years, the number of categories were reduced this year. This of course shortened the winners’ list. A press release was made prior to the show and it read,

Read More »
Submissions For South African Hip Hop Awards Open Till 22nd September

“We have had some made some major changes to the categories and aim to raise the bar even higher, the changes include merging the MVP and Hustler Of The Year Award together to become one, the Best Video award will be awarded to the directors of the respective videos instead of the artists themselves and we have also had to remove out the Kings Of The Province, Best Graffiti Artist and the Best Dance Crew categories due to a declining number of submissions over the years.”

Here’s a full list of the SA Hip Hop Awards 2019 winners.

Read More »
Full Winners List At The 2017 SA Hip Hop Awards

Best Collaboration

Beast (featuring Sjava) “Hello”

Mixtape of the Year

Shane Eagle for Dark Moon Flower

Best Freshman


Best Lyricist

Ginger Trill

Best Producer


Best Female

Nadia Nakai

Best Male


Honorary Award


Ubuntu Activism

Emile YX?

Best Video


Best International

Castle Light

Best Local Brand


Best Hip-Hop Radio Show

DJ Speedsta and Loot Love’s Absolute Hip-Hop (Metro FM)

Best Remix

25K (featuring AKA and Emtee) “Culture Vulture Remix”

Best Promoter

Cassper Nyovest for Fill Up

Best Hustler

Cassper Nyovest

Best Digital Sales

Nasty C

Best DJ


Album of the Year

YoungstaCPT’s 3T

Song of the Year

Yanga Chief “Utatakho”